the shy guy

I saw this young squirrel come dashing across the backyard today while I was sitting out under the buckeye tree watching the activity at the bird feeder.

This half grown youngster must have seen me sitting there and  made a mad dash for the base of the buckeye tree where he could jump into the hostas.

This half-grown youngster must have seen me sitting there and made a mad dash for the base of the buckeye tree where he could jump into the hostas for protection.  I’ve always wanted to get a shot of a squirrel in mid-leap.

I’m really not fond of all the gray squirrels that inhabit the backyard, and plunder the bird feeders on a daily basis.  But young animals have a charm that is irresistible, and this one gave me a variety of very photogenic looks that begged to be posted here.

He is a cautious youngster, popping his head out from behind the tree to check on whether I've moved or not.

He is a cautious youngster, popping his head out from behind the tree to check on whether I’ve moved or not.

young squirrel-

Thinking about whether it’s safe to climb that tree with me sitting there about 15 feet away.

young squirrel-

Still checking me out…a little further up the tree.

young squirrel-

One of those “if I can’t see you, then you can’t see me” moments.

7 thoughts on “the shy guy

  1. First, as always, great pics and insight into nature. Someday, package all these posts. Invaluable. I sense your mixed emotions about squirrels, but their capacity to think probably isn’t any deeper than the pursuit of grub. Given my interest in tech toys, including artillery, I have the final solution, but seldom used. Gazillions of books are devoted to managing these tree rats, but short of the final solution, they will always win. (Somehow chippies are more forgivable.) I once bought a rotating bird feeder — squirrels loved it, then walked in circles. Highly adaptive creatures. My wife has the logical lesson: don’t put out bird seed. (Clearly an MBA ranting about the diseased deck rodents that sleep in our grill.) But they’re like deer with ticks. Cute. Glad they’re around. But …

  2. I spent a fun hour last summer watching a red squirrel tease a very fat cat. The cat was hanging out at the bottom of a street light (wooden light pole) and the squirrel wanted to get from the light to the nearest tree across the street. The cat would pretend to sleep and the squirrel would come down the pole. The cat would “wake up,” sending the squirrel scrambling. They played this game with the squirrel getting closer and closer to the ground for about an hour–then it plopped down on the far side of the light pole and dashed for the tree, leaving the cat to wonder what that streak of red might have been.

Please Leave a Reply

