a long hike

We took advantage of the lovely sunny weather in Keswick to hike around the lake — Derwentwater, which is surrounded by steep rising hills.  We even managed to spot (and identify) a few birds we had seen elsewhere in Wales and Scotland.

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

the lakeshore from the edge of Keswick in the Lake District of Cumbria, England

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

we passed pastures full of grazing sheep

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

beautiful reflections of clouds and hills

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

this is one of the wettest places in England, and moss grows over just about everything.

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

the south end of the lake is marshy, but with so many hikers on a nice day, there were very few birds to be seen here.

hike around Derwentwater, Keswick, England

You can also take a launch around the lake, getting on and off, making several stops at scenic areas.

The map said the hike was about 8 miles, but the hike around the top end of the lake near Keswick took me far inland and away from town.  So I ended up walking about 13 miles, and was pretty happy to just sit down for the rest of the day.

4 thoughts on “a long hike

  1. The Lake District is one of my favorite places. On my first trip, I was a young student from the upper midwest, I was dirt poor, and my friend Jeannie and I walked 14 miles to save 20 cents on the bus. I’ve been back a few times, but my last trip was 1978 with my new husband. Then we had 3 kids, a business, caring for family members. Life got in the way. I hope to go back for a long stay some day. And I want to visit the little village in Yorkshire that my ancestors came from. Thank you for the beautiful photos and the memories. Betsy

Leave a Reply

