Best landscapes of 2015

Last January I began an intensive 6-month long journey into the finer elements of photography with two Masters, Les Imgrund and Ron Clifford, in The Arcanum.  It was a unique and wonderful experience as an apprentice, that taught me not only how to think about setting up to take the photo, but how to make it even better with post-processing edits.  In particular, one of my goals for learning with my Arcanum Masters was to produce dramatic landscapes that deserved more than a just a glance, that would hopefully get viewers to say “wow”.  Composition, balance, tension, color, drama, symmetry — they are all part of creating great landscapes, but both of my Master Photographers emphasized, in particular, simply asking what is essential in the photo to tell the story.

So here are 10 of the best of 2015 — if you feel so inclined, vote for the one(s) that do/does the best job of provoking your interest, maybe even getting a “wow”.  You can vote for as many as you like.

amur-maple-forest-10/14/15

Amur Maple Forest – Oct 14, 2015

calero-sunset-6/6/15

Sunset in the Calero Hills, San Jose, CA, June 6, 2015

chimney rock, Ghost Ranch, NM, 8/9/15

Chimney Rock, Ghost Ranch, NM, Aug 9, 2015

grand-tetons-outside-jackson-wy-7/25/15

Grand Tetons near Jackson, WY, July 25, 2015

lake sunset, MN, 6/26/15

Sunset on White Bear Lake, MN, June 26, 2015

oak-forest-berkeley-botanical-garden

Oak forest, Berkeley Botanical Garden, CA, Dec 7, 2015

sheepberry-fen-prairie pothole

Prairie pothole near Sheepberry Fen, Oct. 23, 2015

split-rock-lighthouse-island

Island near Split Rock Lighthouse, MN, Jan. 24, 2015

white-tailed-deer-in-fall-leaves-

Mississippi River gorge, St. Paul, MN, Nov. 4, 2015

wyoming rainstorm-near Pinedale, WY

Rainstorm over Pinedale, WY, July 22, 2015

Vote for as many of these as you wish.  Thanks for your input!

13 thoughts on “Best landscapes of 2015

  1. I didn’t want the year to end without telling you how much I enjoy your blog. Your “Rainstorm over Pinedale” is a great photo. I know how hard it is to capture those storm cells. My own blog is at cowpatch.com Originally from Michigan, then many years in upstate NY, and now in my 15th year in Arizona, where I do freelance writing, editing, and book production with my spouse.

  2. Pingback: Happy New Year — looking forward and back | Back Yard Biology

  3. I’m glad I could vote for both the rainstorm and the oak forest or I would have had a problem! I appreciate seeing your landscapes as they are something I can’t quite get my head around but I do not practice enough to improve. Will you be continuing with your landscapes in 2016? Amelia

    • Absolutely. I find landscapes more challenging and more rewarding, and still want to improve further. It’s mostly about being in the right place at the right time…

Please Leave a Reply

