Prairie sunrise

Golden light at 5:30 a.m. out on the central Minnesota prairie —

I've heard people talk about sunbeams, but I've never actually seen one until I  saw this outside my cabin at Glacial Lakes state park.

I’ve heard people talk about sunbeams, but I had never actually seen one until I spied  this outside my cabin at Glacial Lakes state park.

Down the road from my cabin, more sunbeams streamed through the oaks.

Down the road from my cabin, more sunbeams streamed through the oak trees.

After a furious thunderstorm, a thick layer of fog hung over the prairie the next morning.

After a furious thunderstorm, a thick layer of fog hung over the prairie the next morning.

Deer were grazing on the prairie near our camp, but fled at the sight of us.

Deer were grazing on the prairie near our camp, but fled at the sight of us.

Two cock pheasants having a dispute on a prairie hillside.

Two cock pheasants having a dispute on a prairie hillside.

Spiderwebs lit up in the early morning sun somehow survived the torrential overnight rain  storm.

Spiderwebs lit up in the early morning sun somehow survived the torrential overnight rain storm.

8 thoughts on “Prairie sunrise

    • We survived the deluge; in fact, the bad weather came at the beginning and end of our prairie trip, so our hike was unaffected. But we have had a month’s worth of rain in just a day or two.

    • My thought exactly. What if I had just started walking down the road toward the prairie and not turned around at just the right time? Lucky, lucky!

Please Leave a Reply

