Experiments

I rarely photograph landscapes, but I couldn’t resist experimenting with this farm scene near Spicer, MN that we have visited several times before.  I call it Thresher Hill because the farmer has collected some old grain threshers and lined them up on the hills behind his fields.

The scene as it looks naturally, minimal photo editing (original photograph).  f11, 1/500, +1 exp, ISO100

The scene as it looks naturally, minimal photo editing (original photograph shot at  f11, 1/500, +1 exp, ISO100).  

And now for some photo experimentation with HDR.  This technique allows you to merge photographs shot at different exposures into one blended photo.  I usually try 5 different exposures (-2, -1, 0, +1, +2), and then enter combinations of these exposures into the Photomatix software.

Two exposures blended together with Photomatix HDR software.

Two exposures blended together with Photomatix HDR software brings out some of the more golden highlights and amplifies the sky.   Is this better than the original or no?

Is a 4- photograph HDR combination better than 2?

Is a 4- photograph HDR combination better than 2?

How about conversion to Black and White?

How about conversion to Black and White after combining four photos in HDR?  I used a collection of wide angle photos to get more of the sky.

I like this last one — it reminds me of Ansel Adams’ dramatic photos of Yosemite.  Click on any of the photos to get a more dramatic full screen image.

6 thoughts on “Experiments

  1. Sue,   Thank you so much for your passion, knowledge of animals and photography talent!   Mike

    ________________________________

    • Thanks for writing Mike. Yes, the photography has certainly become a passion, but I found it’s a great way to share a life-long interest in the natural world. So, I hope it does that for most of the folks that take a look at this blog.

  2. I like the first two, but I think the third is a bit too much. Of course, I’m also color blind. I like the way the clouds pop in the black and white version.
    Threshers seem like a strange thing to collect, but maybe not to a farmer.

    • Perhaps the farmer thought he was creating “yard art”. It is a pretty unusual scene when you drive down the road of a mostly flat landscape and suddenly come upon a line of what looks like tanks on the hillside.

  3. I like the first shot best, with the second coming in slightly behind it. Combining the four shots looks better to me in black and white, where you get the advantage of enhanced dynamic range without having slightly gaudy colors. The scene is awesome, Sue, and I think you should shot landscape more often–it’s a beautifully composed image.

Leave a Reply

