Red fox running

I have seen our local red fox only occasionally this winter and spring.  I thought the coyote had driven the foxes away, but every now and then, a fox shows up in the backyard.  This fox was on a tear, racing up and down the hill, darting here and there.

red fox

He or she finally stopped for a breather.

Looks out of breath from all that chasing around.  I wonder what he/she was after.

Looks out of breath from all that chasing around. I wonder what he/she was after.  Is that open mouth panting, or just pure frustration?  The fox might have been yipping but the windows were closed, so I didn’t hear anything.

Checking me out...even though it is dusk, and I'm sure he/she can't see me in the darkened porch.

Checking me out…even though it is dusk, and I’m sure he/she can’t see me in the darkened porch.

After catching its breath, the fox began exploring more of the backyard, but ran into three deer, who chased it away.

And that was the end of the red fox running around the backyard.

And that was the end of the red fox running around the backyard.

11 thoughts on “Red fox running

    • It is amazing how much wildlife exists in the suburbia of the Twin cities. Of course this is one of those frenetic times of year when animals are on the move, looking for mates, as well as something to eat, so all habitats get thoroughly explored.

    • No fawns, but the doe was with her two offspring from last year. I keep wondering where the new fawns are. I don’t think the doe had one this year, or she would have driven off her yearling twins. Maybe the winter was just too long and too harsh to support a pregnancy?

  1. Foxes are great urban survivors here,as I expect you have heard. We have them in our garden all the time, but I never seem to have a camera handy.

    • Foxes are still rare enough here to be interesting. However, coyotes — that’s another story. Now I don’t really see what coyotes get such a bad rap, but I have to agree that foxes are cuter and prettier than coyotes, and somewhat less threatening looking.

      • Someone was telling me recently that coyotes now populate Golden Gate park in San Francisco. To me, of course, they are an exotic and I would get very excited if I saw one.

        • Me too, actually, but we might feel differently if confronted by a pack of coyotes in an isolated area. Coyotes are a little like wolves in their social behavior, which puts them higher on my intimidation scale.

      • Oh, as for the less threatening thing, you may not have heard of the incidents of foxes entering homes in and around London and even mauling babies? Unusually for baby mauling stories, these are true!

        • It was probably all those years of being chased by men in red coats on horseback that turned the English foxes mean and vengeful…😀

Please Leave a Reply

