Needing color!

It’s almost the end of March and still our landscape remains white, gray, and brown, with occasional additions of more white.  Bored with looking at my white backyard, I went to the Como Park Conservatory for a dose of much needed warmth and color, and an opportunity to try out a new macro lens that has been sitting in its box since Christmas.

This post is for those of you still suffering from exposure to excessive white-ness in your outdoor landscapes.

calla lillies

and they smelled just great too!

and they smelled just great too!

I am impressed with the way the macro lens grabbed a sharp edge on the red in this pansy.

I am impressed with the way the macro lens grabbed a sharp edge on the red in this pansy.

This was a a difficult shot for my camera with the dark background and underlit flower of the lady slipper orchid.  The macro lens did a nice job of capturing good depth of field, even at 1/40 second and f 5.6

This was a a difficult shot for my camera with the dark background and underlit flower of the lady’s slipper orchid. The macro lens did a nice job of capturing good depth of field, even at 1/40 second and f 5.6 . 

Good depth of field in this lady slipper orchid as well -- the flower was posed at an impossible angle.

Pretty good depth of field in this lady’s slipper orchid as well — the flower was posed at an impossible angle. with one of the sepals coming straight out at me.

8 thoughts on “Needing color!

    • Yes, I am anxious to start using that macro lens on the little beasties this summer. But first we have to get over the snow hump and move the season along into spring.

  1. Love the gorgeous colors and the beautiful shapes. Which macro lens did you get? I love to take macro shots, though I find my eye requires retraining when I haven’t used it for a while. Depth of field becomes a huge issue when you get really close (which means a tripod is desirable at times). Shooting in an indoor conservatory is a challenge (as you noted), given the constrained spaces and the sometimes cluttered backgrounds, but you did a great job. We may not have snow any longer, but many of our early blooming plants are delayed, so your bursts of color were a welcome addition to my day,

    • I was very impressed with this lens, much more so than when I tested it out in the house this winter. It is a Tamron 90 mm f2.8 lens, highly recommended by the National Camera sales folk, and now I see why. I wasn’t using a tripod, and was amazed that my hand-held low shutter sped shots were still in focus. The conservatory shots were especially challenging because of all the people there that day, so either they were in my way or I was in their way as I hunkered down for a shot.

Please Leave a Reply

