Returners

One of the things I missed growing up in the stable climate of California was the joy of seeing the resurgence of life in the spring.  In some cases it’s a little like meeting old friends again that you haven’t seen for some time.

Even ordinary Ring-billed Gulls are a welcome sight, as they cruise the open water of the Mississippi south of St. Paul.

Even ordinary birds like Ring-billed Gulls are a welcome sight, as they cruise the open water of the Mississippi south of St. Paul.  I was amazed to find a Great Blue heron cavorting along the almost open water of the river shoreline with the gulls.

There's not much of interest along this frozen shoreline, so after a quick check...

There’s not much of interest along this frozen shoreline, so after a quick check…

It's up, up, and away, to find new places to explore.

It’s up, up, and away, to find new places to explore.

6 thoughts on “Returners

    • well actually, I moved from sunny southern California to upstate New York first(and that was a major climatic shock to my system), and then to Missouri, and then to Minnesota. However, I have never gotten used to winter in all the years that I’ve been away from California. I’m pretty sure you have to be a native Minnesotan to love this weather.

  1. I love your shots of the Great Blue Heron, one of my favorite birds, especially your shot of it taking off. When birds start to return, it’s a good sign that spring is here.

    • thanks, Mike. I was surprised to see herons actually, but a lot of birds seem to have responded to the presence of open water in the two major rivers in the Twin Cities. It’s spring for them, I guess.

Please Leave a Reply

