Mug shots

The looks this White-breasted Nuthatch was giving me made me laugh.  Who says birds don’t have personality?

The full-on beak face

The full-on beak face:  “Stop staring at me.”

"Yes, I'm taking a seed.  Gotta problem with that?"

The sly, deceptive glance:  “Yes, I’m taking a seed. Gotta problem with that?”

The nuthatch impression of a puffball on a tree trunk.

The nuthatch impression of a puffball on a tree trunk.  It’s difficult to assume the spherical shape when perched vertically.

12 thoughts on “Mug shots

    • Nope, he/she was just opposite my window actually. The porch is about 15 feet off the ground, so right at the junction of the first big branches of the tree.

  1. Of course birds have personality! I feed the chickadees and nuthatches from my hand at some nearby trails, and the Red-breasted Nuthatches squawk at the chickadees if they land on my hand at the same time! They are feisty little birds. The White-breasted Nuthatches are more timid, but do seem very interested when I show up with food, inching their way down the trunk to get closer to my outstretched hand. Meanwhile, the chickadees land on head as well as my hat while waiting for their turn!

      • I don’t know, as all of our chickadees are used to being fed at these trails…I didn’t believe people when they said that the birds come right to your hand! In the winter they often fly up to me to see if I have food.

        I don’t imagine it takes that long, maybe a week or two. It could be an experiment you document on your blog!

      • I just might try that — although it will have be down in the woods instead of in my yard, because the birds are much too acclimated to the feeders to come to a handout.

Leave a Reply

