Snowbirds

Not the humans who flee the frozen north, but the little birds that tough out our sometimes harsh climate.  The snowfall went on and on, but it wasn’t cold and there was a fair amount of activity at the feeders.  A few stoic poses from the fantastic four (survivors).

I can take anything this weather throws at me.

“I can take anything this weather throws at me.”    Dark-eyed Junco

I would rather the snow stopped, frankly.

“I would rather the snow stopped, frankly.”   American Goldfinch

Honestly, this white sleety stuff just sucks.

“Honestly, this white sleety stuff just sucks.”   Black-capped Chickadee

Now where did I stash that seed?

“Now where did I stash that seed?”    Red-bellied Woodpecker

18 thoughts on “Snowbirds

    • Thanks! She was up and down on the one side of that tree all morning — I think she must have been looking for something she left there. The tree is right outside my all-season porch window, so I can watch what is going on from pretty close up.

    • Funny thing is that has been the subject of interest for almost my entire scientific career — how birds and other animals survive harsh conditions. So stay tuned.

      • I watched a brilliant PBS special last week about life @ the Poles. penguins, ducks and others. Well it was about alot of things and their survival it the extremes.

  1. Excellent photos, especially through a window. I think yours are a bit cleaner than mine! Were I one of these birds I think I’d find a nice hemlock to fly deep into the center of. I’ve stood under hemlocks in the pouring rain and not felt a drop.

    • thanks, Beth. I am always amazed at how perky these birds seem, even in lousy weather. It’s just got to cheer a person up watching them flit around.

  2. Sue: does the dark eyed junco have a white tail feather on either side seen only when in flight? If so I have a backyard full of them here in Southern IN.

  3. The juncos look so cheerful and happy but may be delusional if they think Chicago is a good place to spend the winter. Regardless, they always make me smile. I’d keep flying further south if I had wings.

Please Leave a Reply

