Family time

There are squawks and chirps all over the backyard these days, as youngsters demand attention from their parents.  The Goldfinch parents have been working extra hard to get themselves and their offspring ready for winter.

Gray-headed coneflower seeds might be small, but there are a lot of them.  The birds are fearless and let me stand 10 feet away.

Gray-headed coneflower seeds might be small, but there are a lot of them. The birds are fearless and let me stand 10 feet away.

Tearing apart cup plant flowers is also popular/

Tearing apart cup plant flowers is also popular.

Wherever adults forage, their newly fledged young soon follow.

Wherever adults forage, their newly fledged young soon follow.

Fluttering wings is accompanied by a lot of chirping.

Fluttering wings is accompanied by a lot of chirping.

Three busy dads stock up on finch seed to offer to those noisy youngsters.

Three busy dads stock up on finch seed to offer to those noisy youngsters.  In addition to the energy cost of feeding offspring, these birds are beginning a body feather molt to their winter plumage — an extra energy expense.  No wonder they have to eat so much.

Man, I need a break.

Man, I need a break.

 

8 thoughts on “Family time

  1. Goldfinches are amazingly beautiful and your wonderful shots really highlight their bold colors. I love the details that you were able to capture, like the tiny coneflower seeds.

    • Thanks, Mike. The birds were so cooperative, letting me stand really close to photograph them. But the feeding frenzy is intense right now, so they apparently weren’t going to give up a rich resource just because I was standing there.

  2. Hi Sue,

    They’re great pictures! Although I’m also attracting birds in my backyard, I couldn’t take that many pictures of them. This kind of blogging is my own personal dream. Awesome!

    I’ll be teaching Animal Diversity this fall, and will have my students to visit and enjoy your blog time to time. Keep going!

Please Leave a Reply

