It’s purple time!

Have you noticed that flower color kind of goes along with season (in parts of the country where there are seasons).  This is purple season.  Earlier this spring, we had pink season.  But the gardens in my residential area are resplendent in purple right now.  Is there a functional reason for this, or is it just coincidence?

For example:

False indigo is deep purple up close, but blue from a distance -- why is it false?

False indigo is deep purple up close, but blue from a distance — why is it false?

Chives are lavender, but that's a shade of purple.

Chives are lavender, but that’s a shade of purple.

What is this?  The petals are almost transparent.

What is this? The petals are almost transparent.

Spiderwort (Tradescantia) is blue in the shade.

Spiderwort  is blue in the shade, but it looks purple from a distance.

I don't know this one either, but its flowers are intensely purple.

I don’t know this one either, but its flowers are intensely purple.  Kind of looks like a type of mint.

Everyone's spring favorite, the iris petals vary in color from intensely blue to intensely purple.

Everyone’s spring favorite, the iris petals vary in color from intensely blue to intensely purple.

I don't know this one either.  (The unknowns are from other people's gardens.)  A very strange flower with highly modified petals sporting both blue and purple shades.

I don’t know this one either.  (The unknowns are from other people’s gardens.)  A very strange flower with highly modified petals sporting both blue and purple shades.

11 thoughts on “It’s purple time!

  1. Gorgeous pics, Sue. Just about my favorite color in the garden, too. I can answer two of your questions for you. False indigo is false because it isn’t really an indigo. It’s a Baptisia. True indigo (Indigofera) is a very different plant. As a guess, I’d say Baptisia belongs to the pea family, at least from looking at those flowers.

    And the picture directly above the iris looks like a salvia to me, possibly “May Night.” It’s a variety I see often in gardening mags, but it doesn’t do well down here in central Florida. It sure is pretty.

    The picture under the chives MIGHT be cranesbill, but I’m not certain.

    For sure, all of them are beautiful! Lovely post!

  2. I don’t know why we’ve moved to purple season, but I really like it (it’s a color that I even wear from time to time). Your photos do a wonderful job of highlighting the different shades of purple. I especially like the one of the spiderwort.

  3. I can’t answer your question, but I’ve noticed that mushrooms do the same thing. One day the woods will be full of yellow ones, then red, purple, etc. That last flower is a perennial bachelor’s button (Centaurea montana.) There is also a yellow false indigo, believe it or not.

    • Thanks for the ID. I don’t think I would have recognized that plant from it’s name. It doesn’t really look the wild variety of Bachelor’s Button I am familiar with. Yellow false indigo just seems like a misnomer.

Leave a Reply

