How to attract a fox?

Last night I scattered bits of hot dog around the neighbor’s backyard hoping to entice the adults and kits closer to my blind.  It didn’t work very well because the adult fox was much too wary to approach and the kits apparently couldn’t smell the hot dog or didn’t associate it with something to eat.  Every now and then, they would pause and stick their noses in the air, as if they detected something, but then ignored the stimulus and kept playing.  The adult, on the other hand, immediately located the several bits that were closest to the compost pile and gobbled those up before dashing back to the safety of the hill.  No doubt more experience with the processed remains of human food will sharpen the kits’  olfactory senses.  But it’s probably not a good idea to teach them to raid garbage cans!

There's something good smelling over here.

There’s something good smelling over here.

Yes, I can stop and pose for a photo.

Yes, I can stop and pose for a photo.

The out-of-focus dash back to the safety of the compost pile with a morsel of hot dog.

The out-of-focus dash back to the safety of the compost pile with a morsel of hot dog.

What's all the fuss about?  I don't smell anything.

What’s all the fuss about? I don’t smell anything.

I smell something but I can't tell what it is -- maybe just deomposing grass.

I smell something but I can’t tell what it is — maybe it’s just deomposing grass.

4 thoughts on “How to attract a fox?

  1. The hits just keep on coming. I love these shots, especially the penultimate one, although the posing adult is amazing too. When you get a chance, Sue, can you post a photo of your blind. I am not a hunter and am having trouble imagining what your set-up looks like. Thanks.

    • Check back in tomorrow’s blog for a photo of the blind and more details on the camera specs. Glad you are enjoying the series– it has far exceeded my expectations for what I thought I would be able to see and to photograph!

Leave a Reply

