Four wings are better than two

I walked the loop at Vadnais Reservoir the other day to check on the swans — and found only two birds remaining, but there seem to be twice as many mallard ducks as previously.

Lake Vadnais inlet during the March melt.

Lake Vadnais inlet during the March melt.  This is about 1/4 of the Mallard population on this small inlet between the two lakes.

Over the winter, the birds have become entrained to fly up and down the creek whenever humans approach in order be first in line for the starchy handouts. I’ve taken lots of photos of birds in flight (mostly fuzzy), but here’s something you don’t see every day.

Really?  A four-winged duck?  Not possible.

Really? A four-winged duck? Not possible. 

I guess perfect alignment of their bodies made this weird shot of two ducks coming in for a landing possible.

The same two ducks landing seconds after the previous photo.

The same two ducks landing seconds after the previous photo.  Landing gear down, wings in stall position, ready…. land.

15 thoughts on “Four wings are better than two

  1. Yeah, love the pic “landing gear down.” Great shot! BTW, I was finally able to get a couple of pics of a coyote this morning – yipee! My next post.

  2. Love the four-winged duck, Sue. Your timing was perfect (or lucky), depending on your intent. As you know well, I have photographed more than my share of ducks this past winter and continue in my efforts to capture them in flight.

    • I didn’t discover the four winged duck until I saw it on the computer. I was just trying to capture birds in flight as the ducks zoomed down the creek. Very lucky shot.

Leave a Reply

