Parakeets in the purse

At the Aquarium in New Orleans, the grandkids were entranced with the parakeet house, where semi-tame birds perched above us and flew about looking in our coat pockets and purses for nesting material.  After their initial intimidation by the feathered flyers, the kids competed to see how many birds they could get to land on them at once.

parakeet house at New Orleans Aquarium

Birds were especially fond of searching in purses and bags for potential nesting material.  I even found one bird happily roosting inside the bottom of my camera. bag.

The parakeets were especially fond of searching in purses and bags for potential nesting material. I even found one bird happily roosting inside the bottom of my camera bag.

Hoods of sweatshirts and jackets were also popular with the parakeets.  Youngest granddaughter was enchanted with the birds.

Hoods of sweatshirts and jackets were also popular with the parakeets. Youngest granddaughter was enchanted with the birds.

The Aquarium has several excellent exhibits (in addition to the parakeet parlour), including a monstrous indoor tank/pool filled with giant groupers, sharks, rays, and some colorful tropical fish.   Excellent entertainment for young and old.

So many colors...so many birdies.

So many colors…so many birdies.

4 thoughts on “Parakeets in the purse

  1. Aw, so pretty, Sue! I love budgies! Some years back, I used to raise hand-fed parrots and lovebirds for sale, and I had a whole houseful, including 20 or so of these guys. They had a big manzanita branch as a tree on my back porch, and I would let them out of their cages to explore it. I hung clusters of grapes and slices of corn on the cob on it for them, and they would forage all afternoon. They were such happy little chatterers, and came in every possible color, except red, of course. I love that these guys are free to mingle with visitors. How adorable! And the picture of your granddaughter is precious! What a lovely time you must have had!

  2. What a fun time. I haven’t done this kind of thing with birds, but last year i was at an indoor butterfly exhibition and the kids were so excited to have large tropical butterflies land on them. I love your shot with the granddaughter and the hooded sweatshirt. I often long to regain that sense of childlike wonder and curiosity.

Please Leave a Reply

