Spy cam results

The camera seems to work just fine at below freezing temperatures.  Placed near a deer path through the backyard, it captures….deer!  What one can learn from these photos is of biological interest (at least to me):  e.g., time of day they wander down this path, and which deer are using it.  In this case, it confirms what other sources tell you about deer preferring to forage near dawn and dusk.

I think this is the 8 point buck (medium sized male seen in the backyard earlier this year)

I think this is the 8 point buck (medium sized male seen in the backyard earlier this year).  Time on the photo indicates early morning; temperature was cropped out of the photo but read 19 F.  In dim morning light, the IR sensors are used to illuminate the photo with LED lights.

One of the does traverses the path at 9:40 p.m.  Note eyeshine from the LED flashes.

One of the does traverses the path at 9:40 p.m. Note eyeshine from the LED flashes.  Camera provides date, time, phase of the moon, and temperature.  Neat!

I also got quite a few blurry photos at night when the deer walked too fast for the camera to capture a good image.  But the time record allows one to monitor activity. The camera takes pretty sharp photos in the daytime, like the one of me below.

Photo of me walking up to the camera to check whether it's working or not.

Photo of me walking up to the camera to check whether it’s working or not.   I remember the daytime temperature being much colder than 41 F, with a stiff breeze blowing.

It also took several photos in the daytime, when there was no subject in the field of view.  Perhaps whatever it was moved out of the field of view too quickly.  It takes at least 10 sec for the camera to capture the first shot.

I’m glad this system works so well, but now I just need to find the path that the fox uses.

7 thoughts on “Spy cam results

  1. You’re braver than me. I’m holding off setting mine up until the temps warm a bit. I got too much background in mine the one time I tried it so I need to do a little research on setting the best range. Great deer shots. Best of luck catching the wiley fox!

    • I played around with the settings quite a bit before putting it outside. The camera has a 30 degree angle of view, but I think I miss a lot of the action, because I got a few shots of just ears or a butt. Lots of fun!

    • If you are interested, I got a Spy Point IR-7. It was a little pricey, but got really good reviews and is quite easy to set up. It has its own weatherproof lockbox, which I attached to a tree with a bicycle lock and a padlock.

Please Leave a Reply

