Close encounter

I went out to the Vadnais Reservoir to check on the swans today.  I think people have been feeding them, because they (and the mallards) swim right over to you when you walk along the trail.

swans at vadnais inlet

swans mallards and wood duck

They swam right over to me.  I didn’t notice until posting this photo that there was a male wood duck swimming along with the mallards (left side of photo).  He must be confused about his identity. I will have to go back and try to find him another day.

A couple of the swans were quite insistent that I give them something and so they posed in front of me for several minutes.

I love the way the legs just float behind the bird.

I love the way the legs just float behind the bird.

Brownish tinge on the crown of the head is most likely due to iron content of the water.

Brownish tinge on the crown of the head is most likely due to iron content of the water.

Patiently waiting for me to provide some treat.

Patiently waiting for me to provide some treat.

Am I gorgeous, or what?

Am I gorgeous, or what?

7 thoughts on “Close encounter

  1. I was standing on a pier once photographing a snow goose when I noticed the goose was getting bigger and bigger in my viewfinder. I put my camera down just in time as the goose was trying to grab it! Swans are certainly beautiful, though. Very nice pics.

    • Good story! That reminds me of the camel that tried to steal my mother-in-law’s purse. I hardly needed a telephoto today with the swans coming in so close to the shore.

    • The bottom of this stream is absolutely bare. I can’t imagine what the swans are living on, unless they get these hand-outs from people that walk by. The swans in the first photo were nibbling on the dead grass.

Leave a Reply

