Deer frolic

I haven’t seen much of the deer this winter, and the herd seems much reduced in size compared to past winters when there were as many as 19 deer patrolling the backyard.

Today, it was just a small family group:  a doe, her twins produced this past summer, and a medium-sized buck.  Despite sub-zero (F) temperatures, one of the young ones was in a playful mood, butting the doe and jostling his twin.

Mom, always alert to whatever lurks behind the bushes in the neighbor's yard (usually a dog).

Mom, always alert to whatever lurks behind the bushes in the neighbor’s yard (usually a dog).

deer frolic

deer frolic

Is there a tiny nub of an antler forming on the youngster on the left?

Is there a tiny nub of an antler forming on the youngster on the left?

Boisterous boy (if that is in fact the nub of an antler below his ear) looks like he might have an eye infection, or a cold, or something — runny nose, drippy eyes.

deer with a cold

His twin desperately needs a “comb-out” for matted fur.

But what can you do when your twin keeps messing with your fur...

But what can you do when your twin keeps messing with your fur?

Big daddy ignored the whole frolic in the snow bit, and sedately walked across the back of the yard,

buck-1

pausing to stare at me while I took photos (through the windows open to the sub-zero air!).

buck

It looks like Mr. Buck needs a comb-out as well, with burdock seed heads stuck to his forehead.

Tell me how I am supposed to get these things off me without fingers.

Tell me how I am supposed to get these things off me without fingers.

7 thoughts on “Deer frolic

  1. Amazing how well they seem to tolerate the freezing temps. I didn’t realize that burrs stuck to a deer’s coat! I don’t know if animals get colds, but like the deer with the drippy eyes, one of my hens occasionally has runny eyes, but then, other days her eyes are fine. Very strange.

    • That’s why I covered my azaleas with wire cages for the winter. There doesn’t seem to be much to eat in my yard; they like the neighbors’ shrubs much better.

  2. When you entitled your blog “Back Yard Biology” you were being quite literal. It’s nice that wildlife comes to you when the weather is so inhospitable. Beautiful shots of the deer–it’s nice that you were able to photograph the whole family.

    • Our backyard adjoins a small wetland area that is big enough to support some wildlife. And you’re right, I am happy to have the wildlife walk up into the yard, rather than don three or four layers of clothing to go for a short walk. Brrrrr…..

  3. Pingback: Spy cam results | Back Yard Biology

Leave a Reply

