Need more insulation!

It was a breezy 16 F in the backyard this afternoon, and only one squirrel was out.  Even the chickadees have called it a day, although there is still at least an hour of daylight left.

I watched this gray squirrel for a while and realized it was carrying leaves, not nuts, to its nest.  In fact, the squirrel was quite particular about the kinds of leaves it wanted to take back to the nest.  It traversed about 100 feet of snow, went over instead of around the wood pile, and dug around the exposed ground at the foot of the big white oak for a mouthful of leaves.  Once particular leaves were selected, the squirrel wadded them up into a tidy bundle, and carted them off, back across the yard, over the woodpile, and up a dead walnut (?) to its home.

gray squirrel collecting leaves-1

I hope this is enough; this is the fourth trip I've made, and it's' cold out here.

I hope this is enough; this is the fourth trip I’ve made, and it’s cold out here.

up, up, another 20 feet to climb...I see the hole (upper right corner of the photo behind all the leaves)

up, up, another 20 feet to climb…I see the hole (upper right corner of the photo behind all the leaves)

Finally!  Ah, now that's some better insulation.  These walls are just too thin.

Finally! Ah, now that’s some better insulation. These walls are just too thin.   (Can you see my back and butt hanging out of the hole in the middle of the photo?)

Oh no!  Too many leaves in the bottom of my nest now.  I can't even get my tail in.

Oh no! Too many leaves in the bottom of my nest now. I can’t even get my tail in.

I finally put on a coat and boots to go out and take some better photos of the squirrel and his nest — but that was the end of the show for today.   He or she was staying put inside.  But now I know where this one lives…

gray squirrel nest

5 thoughts on “Need more insulation!

  1. Great photos, Sue. Really told a story, poor little guy! Hope he is going to be snug tonight, and you as well. We are getting some cooler weather tonight, after about 10 days of 78 to 80 degree daytime highs and high 60’s or low 70’s at night. I think the temperature has dropped about 20 degrees this afternoon, so I may get to light a fire tonight, while I’m watching tv or reading. But compared to you, it’s pretty balmy. Stay warm!

    • That’s interesting — thanks for pointing that out. I hadn’t thought about the moisture problem, and that might be a bigger concern than insulation because water conducts heat away faster than air. Good point!

Leave a Reply

