Snow falling

Gently, but rather rapidly, making it hard to photograph anything but a blur.  But I thought I would try anyway.  It’s interesting that the eye can track what looks like flakes but the camera can’t capture that (or I haven’t learned how, more likely).

I started out thinking I could stop the action -- not possible, even with the highest shutter speed (1/4000).

I started out thinking I could stop the action — not possible, even with the highest shutter speed (1/4000).  Also complicated by trying to manually focus on snowflakes! 

Might as well use the blur, and try for an arty look.

Might as well use the blur, and try for an arty look.

Tracking the path of the snowflake instead produced an interesting effect.

Tracking the path of the snowflake instead of trying to stop the action produced an interesting effect.  Some paths are actually in focus (fine lines).

Even the squirrels were put off by this gentle snowfall and deserted the backyard today. And the accumulation was nothing compared to the big snow we had a couple of weeks ago.

grandson and his dad driving their remote control cars in the snowstorm

Grandson and his dad driving their remote control cars in the snowstorm (photo by co-blogger Alison).

13 thoughts on “Snow falling

  1. Love these pics, Sue. Especially the one of your grandson and his dad. That one’s a real keeper. A precious moment frozen in time. And my, do those evergreens behind them look wonderful and wintry! It warmed back up into the lower 70’s today, so I had shorts on most of the day. Geesh. I wouldn’t mind a romp in the snow, myself, even without the remote controlled cars. And then a cuppa hot chocolate by the fire. Oh, yeah! I sometimes miss the days when I lived in Pennsylvania. It could be so pretty when it snowed. In the country, that is. In the city, not so much so, usually.

    Thanks for another great post!

    • I think a month of this weather would be fine — but I get really tired of snow and cold after 5 or 6 months f it. Thanks, as always, for your kind comments.

      • I agree. There’s such a thing as “too much of a good thing!” Five months of snow would get very old, but boy, so does nine months of sweltering heat. Oh, well. No place is perfect, and I guess we just have to learn to bloom where we’re planted, as they say. Or dig ourselves up and move on, one or the other. At least it’s nice that you know how to look for the beauty in it all. I had to laugh yesterday when I was walking around the backyard, figuring out what I was going to clean up this weekend. My Belinda’s Dream pink rose was covered in blooms, and I thought about your snow pictures as I was admiring it. There I was envying your beautiful snowy day, and yet, I had a yard full of roses just starting to open their winter blooms. I made an attitude adjustment on the spot.

        • Yes, I would love to have traded places with you yesterday. I can (just barely) tolerate the cold, but really, really miss bright colors and the smell of damp earth.

    • This is a fair amount of now for MN this time of year, but 20 years ago we had three times this much as well as much lower temps (lots of subzero F days). Climate change has made our weather more like it is 300 miles south of here.

  2. I thought the shots of falling snow were good. I’m trying for a sky full of stars next, which isn’t as easy as it sounds if you don’t want star trails. I like the picture of your grandson and his dad-good, hardy stock who don’t let a little snow and cold slow them down!

    • Thanks for your comment. Yes, Minnesotans pride themselves on being able to carry on in any weather, and the colder the better. We California transplants have a little trouble with that philosophy however.

      • We seem to have found ourselves living each other’s life! Hahaha. I can barely tolerate anything over 70 to 75 degrees, and since much of the year here hovers in the mid-90’s to over 100 degrees, I’m often trapped inside in the a/c.. So I was tempted when I saw your pictures. I love the cold. Up to a point! But probably more than a month or two of extreme weather in either direction isn’t a lot of fun. I would truly miss my garden up there, though. I’m ready to plant winter cabbages, violas, and other cool weather annuals right now, and though the more tropical things (cannas and the like) are looking sad, the roses and a few other perennials don’t care how hot or how cold it is. So for a gardener, life in Florida isn’t so bad.

Please Leave a Reply

