12/12/12

12/12/12 — once in a century.

So to honor the date, here are 12 of my favorite bird photos, arranged from smallest to largest bird body size (because there has to be some kind of order).  Prepare to do a lot of scrolling here.  All of these have appeared on the blog post at some point in the last couple of years, so if you want to read more about any particular bird, just type its name into the search box at the top right of the HOME page.

Male Scintillant Hummingbird from Boquete, Panama, Feb. 2012

Male Scintillant Hummingbird from Boquete, Panama, Feb. 2012

Male Anna's Hummingbird from Berkeley Botanic Garden, November 21012

Male Anna’s Hummingbird from Berkeley Botanic Garden, November 21012

Male American Goldfinch in the backyard flower garden, June 2011

Male American Goldfinch in the backyard flower garden, June 2011

Eastern Bluebird at Vadnais Reservoir, September 2011

Eastern Bluebird at Vadnais Reservoir, September 2011

Gray-headed Tanager in Bouquete, Panama, February 2012

Gray-headed Tanager in Bouquete, Panama, February 2012

Fasciated Antshrike in Panama City, February 2012

Fasciated Antshrike in Panama City, February 2012

Orange-billed Nightingale Thrush in Bouquete, Panama, February 2012.  Inside of the mouth also a bright orange.

Orange-billed Nightingale Thrush in Bouquete, Panama, February 2012.   Inside of the mouth also a bright orange.

Male Red-winged Blackbird singing in Snail Lake marsh, March 2012

Male Red-winged Blackbird singing in Snail Lake marsh, March 2012

Keel-billed Toucan in the tree outside my hotel in Panama City, February 2012

Keel-billed Toucan in the tree outside my hotel in Panama City, February 2012

Juvenile Cattle Egrets fighting over food in their nest on St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Juvenile Cattle Egrets fighting over food in their nest on St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands, March 2012.

Little Blue Heron on St. Croix Island beach, March 2012

Little Blue Heron on St. Croix Island beach, March 2012

And the 12th bird of the 12/12/12 century mark

Male Turkey display in my backyard, April 2012

Male Turkey display in my backyard, April 2012

Looking at the dates of these photos, it’s obvious I didn’t try to take bird photos until I got my current (better) camera, a Canon Rebel 3Ti.

10 thoughts on “12/12/12

  1. Good choices. My all-time favorite is the Belted Kingfisher – such a strange and fascinating bird! I like the insect-like calls of the Red-winged Blackbird.

  2. I like all of them especially the Egrets and the Heron.. the Egret is a wonderful action photo, and the Heron, its amazing how the blue of the water matches the blue of its head and bill.

    • I agree. That Little Blue is such a pretty thing, and so patient. It stand stared at me for a good 15 minutes as I walked up to it, around it, and away from it. You can’t ask for a better subject.

  3. Stunning photos of stunning birds, Sue!! I loved every one of them, but oh my gosh! That antshrike must be the most unusual looking bird I’ve ever seen. All those kajillions of tiny little lines. (I’m guessing fasciated refers to that? Haven’t looked it up yet.) Is he related to our shrikes?

    What a great post!!

    • Thanks, Marcia. The Fasciated Antshrike is supposedly common where it occurs in southern Central America and northern South America. Nope, it’s not related to NA shrikes. I think it got a shrike in its name because of the heavy bill and stocky body, like a shrike. I don’t even know if it eats ants– but prefers to grab large insects. So what’s in a name anyway?

      • The bill was what made me wonder, too. Perhaps they “shrike?” (Old English for shriek, though I’ve never heard OUR shrikes shriek.) Makes you think of a tongue-twister. Susan sells shrieking shrikes by the seashore. Shall Susan sell shrieking shrikes………….
        Ha.

        Lovely to look at anyway, all of ’em.

  4. Pingback: the year that was (2012) | Back Yard Biology

Please Leave a Reply

