So photogenic

This has to be one of the most endearing little birds we see in Minnesota.

I found them this year in exactly the same place (same trees) I first saw them last year, and within a week of the same time of year.

Some were hunting for berries in the bushes.  Some were hawking for insects from a perch. Their little social group flitted around me and over me, chirping away like they were gossiping about me pointing some big old black tube of a lens at them.

Eastern Bluebirds are definitely one of my favorite photo subjects.  Like their larger cousins, the Robins, Bluebirds eat a mixed diet of insects and fruit in the winter.  Availability of food determines whether Bluebirds stay in an area year-round, and Minnesota doesn’t offer much in the way of insects during the winter.  Further south Bluebirds might feast on berries of dogwood, sumac, hawthorn, virginia creeper, and wild grape, even blackberries, poke berries, or honeysuckle to supplement their insect diet.

I have Bluebird boxes in my backyard (which the House Wrens love), but have never seen a Bluebird there.  Maybe I need to plant some of these fruit-bearing bushes and trees.

4 thoughts on “So photogenic

  1. Beautiful shots of a beautiful bird, Sue. I know that there are supposed to be bluebirds at the marshland park that I often visit, and there are some photos on the internet that suggest they may stay here all winter. I guess I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled (and see about getting a slightly longer telephoto lens).

  2. I would check near any fruit bearing trees, and listen for chirps that sound a little like robins but softer and more frequent.

  3. Beautiful photos, Sue. I wish bluebirds were “yard birds” around here, but mostly, you have to hit the country roads and look for open fields. Then you might see them perched on lines or barbed wire fences, but you really have to put your binoculars on them to pick up the color. They often appear as just dark little birds from a distance, in my experience. Of course, it pays to check out most birds seen from a distance, anyway. I’ve discounted many a good sighting by thinking, “Oh, it’s just another robin,” and not looking closely until someone else has pointed out that it is something a bit less common. Now, I try not to dismiss birds I can’t see well.

    Your pictures are outstanding! I would happily put out boxes and keep the mealworm feeders well stocked if I thought I could bring any in close. Great post, as usual.

Please Leave a Reply

