Backyard visitors

I haven’t seen them in a long while, but on this rainy morning, a couple of visitors stopped by.

I think this sad-looking creature might be one of the twins born last spring.  The little antler buds present means he'll grow his first set of antlers, if he recovers from the starvation it looks like he has been suffering.

I think this sad-looking creature might be one of the twins born last spring. The antler buds present means he’ll grow his first set of antlers, if he recovers from the starvation it looks like he has been suffering.  He was accompanied by a full-grown doe and a smaller female, who I think was his twin.

In January, the does and her two fawns looked much healthier than they do now.

In January, the does and her two fawns looked much healthier than they do now.

The doe gave this guy a head butt and a nip to move him away from where she was feeding, so he explored the area under the bird feeder.

The doe gave this guy a head butt and a nip to move him away from where she was feeding, so he explored the area under the bird feeder.  Part of his scruffy appearance is probably a result of molting from the winter coat to the spring-summer fur, but he looks like he needs a brush-out, badly!

A couple of hours later, I heard gobbling in the backyard, and found a tom Turkey taking shelter from the rain under my deck.

Tom Turkey strutted around the backyard gobbling occasionally, usually when he was facing away from me or behind a post.

Tom Turkey strutted around the backyard gobbling occasionally, usually when he was facing away from me or behind a post.

Before he left, he took a long drink from the bird bath.

Before he left, he took a long drink from the bird bath.

Even though his feathers shed water very nicely, turkeys get very damp heads in the rain.  I've never really looked at the top of a turkey's head.  Part of it looks like their brain tissue is exposed, but it's just wrinkly skin.

Even though feathers shed water very nicely, turkeys get very damp heads in the rain. I’ve never really looked at the top of a turkey’s head. Part of it looks like their brain tissue is exposed, but it’s just wrinkly skin.

8 thoughts on “Backyard visitors

  1. Tom turkey was sitting on my front porch last week! Welcome home, at last it is greening up! Hope you want dahlias, I potted up 102. What was I thinking! Maryann

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. As someone who no longer has much cover on the top of my head, I can appreciate the turkey’s desire not to get wet. Nice to have visitors–I hope that the little deer looks better the next time you see him.

Leave a Reply

